top of page
Writer's pictureretailbyhales

Making and Baking Circle Freshies

Updated: Dec 30, 2021

You learned all about making your own cardstock here. Now you're ready to bake them! Prefer to watch? Scroll to the bottom instead.


Supplies:

  • Scented beads (see a tutorial here)

  • Circle mold or cookie cutter. (I love this one!)

  • Mica

  • Cardstock (make your own or purchase here)

  • Glitter (if wanted)

  • Cookie sheet and hot pads

  • Drill or roofing nail for holes

  • Elastic or string for hanging (colored elastic or white elastic works well. I don't like darker colors because I feel they stand out too much)

See my supplies page for information on where to get each of these.


Step 1:


Lay your cardstock face down in the mold or cookie cutter.


If you're using a roofing nail for the holes, you should add them in before putting the cardstock in. Slide the cardstock down over the roofing nail.



Step 2: Add Glitter


Shake some glitter on top and make sure it's spread out on the edges.


Step 3:


Add colored beads. I have a tutorial on how to color beads here if you need it.


I fill mine up about 1/2 to 2/3 of the way.


Step 4: Bake


I bake these on 325 degrees for about 13 minutes. Your oven may cook them differently. When I pull them out of the oven, I tap the top of a few to make sure the beads are stuck together and don't move.




Step 5: Cool


Let the freshies cool. It'll take about 20 minutes if you're using the silicone mold or 8-9 minutes for a cookie cutter. Don't stick them in the fridge or freezer. This could cause everything to taste like freshies and probably isn't the best for your health.


Pop the freshies out when they're cool. With a silicone mold, don't do this while they're warm or you'll bend the cardstock. Pull out the roofing nails if that's what you used.



Step 6: Drill holes (if you choose) and string


If you did not use roofing nails, this is when you'll drill your holes. We have an old cutting board that is the designated freshie drilling space.


Drilling all of my freshies is my husband's contribution to my business but it really isn't hard. Just make sure you're pushing down hard before you start so that it drills in the right spot.


A lovely picture of my husband. He'll be thrilled that he made it into this post.

Once you've got a hole in your freshie, put a string through it and you're done!


 



675 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page