top of page
Writer's pictureretailbyhales

Ombre Freshies with Two Colors

Updated: Jun 20, 2022


Single color freshies are fun, but there's something about blending two colors together that is so satisfying. This will teach you how.


Prefer to watch? Scroll down to the bottom!


Materials:

-Scented Aroma Beads

-Mica or pigment powder (I like K&L's, SAVE saves you 10% on everything)

-Cookie cutter or mold (this* is a fun Western set from Amazon)

-Cookie sheet

-String to hang


Step 1: Prepare your surface


Lay a piece of parchment paper or your silicone mat on a baking sheet. This helps prevent sticking. Put your cookie cutter on top. You can use this method with molds as well, the cook time will just be longer.


Choose your colors. Choose colors that will complement each other and look good when blended. I'll put some of my favorite color combos below. Neons work especially well.





Step 2: Add one color


I start with the first color of beads at the back of my cutter.


When doing ombre, it looks best with one color slightly pulled on top of the other. In the yellow and blue dinosaur, the yellow beads are on top of the blue, so I laid my blue beads down first at the back.


On the dinosaur, the purple will be on top of the pink, so I start with pink.


For the yellow dinosaur, I'm going to have green on top so I laid a yellow base. You want to make sure that the back is as thick as your freshie will be, about halfway. The middle should be thinner because you're pouring more beads on top next.


Step 3: Add Second Color


You're going to pour the second color into the front of the cookie cutter so that it's as thick as you would like. You'll likely use less beads than you did with the first.


They'll seem pretty separate, with a clear distinction from where the one color stops and the next one starts. We'll blend them in the next step.



Step 4: Spread the Top Color


You're going to gently use your finger to pull a few beads from the top color onto the bottom color. This creates the blending effect.


For the purple pink dinosaur, I spread a few purple beads onto the pink ones. You can see that there are purple beads on top of the layer of pink.


For the green yellow dinosaur, I spread some of the green onto the yellow.



Step 5: Bake and Finish


Now you'll bake these just as you would any other freshie. I bake on 325 degrees for 8-10 minutes. See this article for more information on baking and finishing your freshie.






I would love to see the freshies that you've made. There's a Facebook support group here you can join and share all of your work.


 


130 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page