top of page
Writer's pictureretailbyhales

Freshie Supplies

Updated: Mar 12


Aspiring Freshie Maker? Here's what you'll need to get started. I tried to put an Amazon link for each type of supply along with other suppliers that offer good products when you're ready to invest more. I have personally used all of the products and businesses that I refer below. *I do earn a small commission from any purchases from Amazon links.


 


Aroma Beads You'll need to purchase aroma beads. These are different from wax beads. I like these beads* for smaller quantities. *Make sure you're only buying from Buyitshipit when purchasing through Amazon. Other brands have good reviews but so many people have had mixed results with them. For larger quantities, Plastic Pellets for Fun is the best! They're my primary supplier. Make sure you buy the premium ones.


Other Suppliers:

*Note, I haven't used all of these suppliers and can't vouch for quality.


 

Micas Mica is what provides the color for the freshie. If you want multiple colors, you'll need different colors of mica. Pigments and mica powder will both work. I have a few favorite places to purchase micas. Good beginning set: Amazon Fan Favorites: Mad Micas Budget Friendly: Just Pigments


Best Red & Black: E2 Scents


Affordable but Slow Shipping: DoFunny


You can also use candle dye. I don't talk about these on my blog at all because they're messy and I hate them plus they dye molds, but they are an option. Some people like using them to get a true red or black.

 

Fragrance Oils You can scent your own beads using fragrance oils. I have a few suppliers that I like and have used personally. Amazon isn't the best place to buy these. Aztec Waxy Flower Maple Street Candle


You can also buy pre scented beads! They're going to cost more than buying supplies in bulk to scent your own but it's less work for you.

E Squared Scents

 

Shapes You have two choices for getting your freshie shape. Cookie cutters and molds. I will talk about each below. I have included some comparison pictures. Cookie cutters will give you the correct shape but won't give you specific details, like the pineapple on the left. The pineapple on the right was made with this silicone mold and has detailed lines going across it.


Below, the scrubs on the left were made with this mold and the one on the right was made using a cookie cutter and adding details with puffy paint.

See a list of pros and cons for each below.

 

Cookie Cutters Benefits: -Cheaper -Easy to find -Available in most stores (Walmart, Joann's, etc.)

-Easier to cook than molds Cons: -Bend easily -Limited to simpler shapes and designs Each of the freshies pictured was made using a cookie cutter. Ann Clark on Amazon has sets of cutters like this one* that are affordable and include shipping. I highly recommend sets like this for someone just starting out. Places to purchase cookie cutters: Cookie Cutter Shop American Traditions Cookie Cutters

 

Silicone Molds These are my personal favorite way to make freshies. Benefits: -Maintain their shape -Add details -Makes intricate shapes possible -Easy to color and decorate Cons: -Price -Not many are available on Amazon and must be purchased through suppliers

Retail by Hales: Here's a link to the molds that I make and sell. I've done a lot of testing to create a mold that will bake well.

Mold Suppliers: There are so many but here are a few I've purchased from and liked or heard great things about Baysic Bits

Cattle Walk Molds Available on Amazon: Cactus mold* (small, good for vent clips) Circle mold* (perfect for cardstock freshies)


**I've found that the molds sold on Amazon, imported from China, are often too smooth to paint details on. I've included a picture of some that are offered. The paint peels right off, so I would avoid buying those even though the low price is tempting.

Trust me, they sucked me in too and I had to buy replacements from a reputable mold maker anyway.


 

Polypropylene Bags


Bags must be polypropylene to preserve their scent. Ziploc, OPP, and mylar bags will not be as effective and will actually absorb your scent, making your freshies weaker over time.


If you're buying in bulk, Uline or ClearBags are good places to go. Personally I find the best pricing at ClearBags. Their crystal clear line is polypropylene.


-4x6 will fit a lot of the smaller freshies. It fits 3 inch rounds really well as well as vent clip freshies.

-5x7 has been my favorite size for larger freshies. Almost any freshie fits inside of it.

-6x6 is my other favorite size for larger freshies. Between 5x7 and 6x6 I can fit 95% of my freshies there.

-6x8 I keep a few 6x8 on hand for freshies that are extra long. I don't use many of these. They also come in handy for mixing up bead colors.


I like to have a few different sizes of bags on hand.

 

Other Important Supplies

Here are a few other things that you may need as you make these.

  • Food scale*- used to measure the weight of your beads and oils

  • Mica scoops*- (the tip of a plastic spoon will work as well)

  • Glass jars- used to mix oils with beads, helps prevent leaking

  • Cardstock paper- can be used to divide beads, make your own cardstock designs

  • Index cards- can be used to divide beads

  • Thick tooth comb- You'll want the bristles to be spread out, but not too far. This can be used to divide beads

  • Silicone mat*- used to put your freshies on as they cook if you're using cookie cutters. I cut these into pieces

  • Parchment paper- used to put your freshies on as they cook if you're using cookie cutters

  • Elastic: I purchase the 8 inch loops from Paper Mart. You can also purchase the elastic loops from Natollie. If you don't mind cutting your own, I used Dollar Tree elastic for a year before changing to precut! Amazon has a lot of elastics as well.




*Commission earned

4,069 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page